CWRU Links
Cancer Imaging

Program Themes

  • Development of novel imaging modalities and nanotechnologies for detecting tumors and discerning metrics of growth, aggressiveness, and drug response, as well as drug delivery to tumors
  • Utilization of imaging tools to uncover mechanisms contributing to tumor pathogenesis and which facilitate treatment
  • Translation of new imaging approaches to address unmet clinical needs and improve patient care

Program Information

The overarching goal of the Cancer Imaging Program is to utilize imaging for basic discoveries of carcinogenic mechanisms and therapeutic development that will translate into improved patient care.

To provide structure and promote cohesion within the larger program, investigators are organized into four scientific focus areas that address key questions in cancer research and reflect specific areas of expertise of the Program's membership.

  • Imaging of the Tumor Microenvironment: This focus group engages members who study the cancer microenvironment with the goal of identifying new markers and paradigms for drug targeting or cancer detection. This includes development of tools to assess the extent of tumor cell migration into surrounding host tissues for clinical assessment of disease dissemination.
  • Image-Guided Therapies: Members of this focus group develop novel approaches for monitoring cancer treatment and evaluating efficacy in vivo and ultimately in patients. These efforts range from clever utilization of conventional imaging tools for rapid clinical translation to developing targeted imaging agents and the tools for assessing drug delivery.
  • Nanotechnology for Imaging and Drug Delivery: Members of this focus group develop nanodevices that impact many aspects of cancer imaging and treatment such as gene transfer and drug delivery. Efforts in this group include utilization of metallic nanoparticles to specifically deliver contrast agents to disease sites.
  • Stem Cell Imaging: This focus group utilizes imaging approaches to study the biology of stem cells in vivo, for instance in the therapeutic setting, and to observe cancer stem cells. Members investigate the interactions between stem cells and their microenvironment and have developed imaging techniques to track stem cell homing, engraftment, proliferation, and differentiation.

Program Activities

Program Meetings
12-1 pm Wolstein Research Bldg, 3-136

September 3, 2014
October 15, 2014
November 26, 2014

Program Members

Eben Alsberg, PhD
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
eben.alsberg@case.edu

Norbet Avril, MD
Professor, Radiology
norbert.avril@UHhospitals.org

James P. Basilion, PhD
Professor, Radiology, Biomedical Engineering
jxb206@case.edu

Susann M. Brady-Kalnay, PhD
Professor, Molecular Biology & Microbiology
smb4@case.edu

Samuel T. Chao, MD
Associate Professor, Brain Tumor and Neuro-oncology, Radiation Oncology
chaos@ccf.org

Valdir C. Colussi, PhD
Assistant Professor, Radiation Oncology
valdir.colussi@UHhospitals.org

Jennifer Dorth, MD
Assistant Professor, Radiation Oncology
jennifer.dorth@UHhospitals.org

Jeffrey L. Duerk, PhD
Professor, Radiology, Biomedical Engineering
duerk@case.edu

Rodney J. Ellis, MD
Assistant Professor, Radiation Oncology
rodney.ellis@UHhospitals.org

Agata A. Exner, PhD
Associate Professor, Radiology
agata.exner@case.edu

Chris A. Flask, PhD
Associate Professor, Radiology, Biomedical Engineering, and Pediatrics
caf@case.edu

Mark A. Griswold, PhD
Professor, Radiology
mag46@case.edu

Vikas Gulani, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Radiology
vikas@case.edu

John R. Haaga, MD
Professor, Radiology
jrh7@case.edu

Steve Huang, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Nuclear Medicine
huangs2@ccf.org

James W. Jacobberger, PhD
Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
jwj@case.edu

Efstathios Karathanasis, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering and Radiology
stathis@case.edu

Henry B. Koon, MD
Assistant Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
henry.koon@case.edu

Vinod Labhasetwar, PhD
Professor, Biomedical Engineering
labhasv@ccf.org

Zhenghong Lee, PhD
Professor, Radiology, Biomedical Engineering
zxl11@case.edu

Kenneth A. Loparo, PhD
Professor, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
kal4@case.edu

Zheng-Rong Lu, PhD
Professor, Biomedical Engineering
zxl125@case.edu

Mitchell Machtay, MD
Professor, Radiation Oncology
mitchell.machtay@UHhospitals.org

David Mansur, MD
Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology
david.mansur@UHhospitals.org

Gordon McLennan, MD
Professor, Diagnostic Radiology
mclenng@ccf.org

Raymond F. Muzic, Jr., PhD
Associate Professor, Radiology
raymond.muzic@case.edu

Tarun Podder, PhD
Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology
txp172@case.edu

Tomas Radivoyevitch, PhD
Assistant Professor, Quantitative Health Sciences
radivot@ccf.org

Andrew M. Rollins, PhD
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
amr9@case.edu

Pablo Ros, MD, PhD
Professor, Radiology
pablo.ros@UHhospitals.org

Gerald M. Saidel, PhD
Professor, Biomedical Engineering
gms3@case.edu

Robert G. Salomon, PhD
Professor, Chemistry
rgs@case.edu

Anirban Sen Gupta, PhD
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
anirban.sengupta@case.edu

Andrew E. Sloan, MD
Professor, Neurological Surgery
andrew.sloan@UHhospitals.org

Jason W. Sohn, PhD
Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology
jason.sohn@case.edu

Sree N. Sreenath, PhD
Professor, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
n.sreenath@case.edu

Jeffrey L. Sunshine, MD, PhD
Professor, Radiology
jeffrey.sunshine@UHhospitals.org

Horst A. von Recum, PhD
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
horst.vonrecum@case.edu

Yanming Wang, PhD
Professor, Radiology
yanming.wang@case.edu

Barry W. Wessels, PhD
Professor, Radiation Oncology
barry.wessels@UHhospitals.org

David L. Wilson, PhD
Professor, Biomedical Engineering
dlw@case.edu

Min Yao, MD, PhD
Professor, Radiation Oncology
min.yao@UHhospitals.org

G.Q. Zhang, PhD
Professor, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
guo-qiang.zhang@case.edu

Junmin Zhu, PhD
Research Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering
junmin.zhu@case.edu

Program Leaders

James P. Basilion, PhD
Professor, Radiology, Biomedical Engineering
jxb206@case.edu

Zhenghong Lee, PhD
Associate Professor, Radiology, Biomedical Engineering
zxl11@case.edu