Skip to Main Content
CWRU Links
Case Comprehensive Cancer Center

Cancer Prevention, Control & Population Research

Cancer Prevention, Control & Population Research

Program Themes

The overarching themes of this Program are:

  • To reduce the burden of cancer through identifying risk factors
  • Developing and applying novel strategies/interventions to reduce risk
  • Promoting early detection
  • Increasing the adoption and implementation of recommended cancer prevention and control services

Program Information

The Program has established and continues to expand community and practice "laboratories" and disease-focused and population-based cohorts to conduct transdisciplinary and translational research. Research in this program is catalyzed through formation of intra- and inter-programmatic collaborative groups interested in cross cutting or organ-specific cancer issues. This work is further promoted through program-wide seminars, working groups and strategic use of Cancer Center Resources.

To pursue the themes outlined above, members of the Prevention Program participate in at least one of the following four scientific Focus Areas:

  • Health services research and risk prediction modeling to inform cancer prevention and control
  • Cancer epidemiology and gene-environment interaction including international cancer health initiatives
  • Understanding and affecting factors associated with cancer prevention and control, survivorship and quality of life
  • Improving the informed consent and decision making process for cancer control

Program Members

Louise S. Acheson, MD, MS
Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
lsa@case.edu

Jill S. Barnholtz-Sloan, PhD
Associate Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
jsb42@case.edu

Elaine A. Borawski, PhD
Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics
elaine.borawski@case.edu

Jeremy S. Bordeaux, MD, MPH
Associate Professor, Dermatology
jeremy.bordeaux@UHhospitals.org

Debora S. Bruno, MD, MS
Assistant Professor, Medicine and Oncology
dbruno@metrohealth.org

David N. Cavallo, PhD, MPH, RDN
Assistant Professor, Nutrition
david.cavallo@case.edu

Gregory S. Cooper, MD
Professor, Medicine-Gastroenterology
gxc12@case.edu

Linda C. Cummings, MD
Assistant Professor, Gastroenterology
linda.cummings@case.edu

Barbara J. Daly, RN, PhD, FAAN
Professor, Nursing
barbara.daly@case.edu

Gary T. Deimling, PhD
Professor, Sociology
gtd@case.edu

Catherine A. Demko, PhD
Associate Professor, Community Dentistry
catherine.demko@case.edu

Sara L. Douglas, PhD, RN
Associate Professor, Nursing
sld4@case.edu

Charis Eng, MD, PhD
Professor, Genetics
engc@ccf.org

Susan A. Flocke, PhD
Associate Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
susan.flocke@case.edu

Sonja Harris-Haywood, MD, MS
Assistant Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
shaywood@case.edu

Chao-Pin Hsiao, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor, Nursing
cxh416@case.edu

Ge Jin, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences
ge.jin@case.edu

Eva F. Kahana, PhD
Professor, Sociology
exk@case.edu

Jonathan Karn, PhD
Professor, Molecular Biology & Microbiology
jonathan.karn@case.edu

Michael W. Kattan, PhD
Professor, Quantitative Health Sciences
kattanm@ccf.org

Eric D. Kodish, MD
Professor, Bioethics, Pediatrics
kodishe@ccf.org

Siran M. Koroukian, PhD
Associate Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics
sxk15@case.edu

Michael M. Lederman, MD
Professor, Medicine-Infectious Diseases
mxl6@case.edu

Li Li, MD, PhD
Professor, Family Medicine
lxl62@case.edu

David G. Litaker, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Internal Medicine
david.litaker@med.va.gov

Patricia A. Marshall, PhD
Professor, Bioethics
pam20@case.edu

Susan R. Mazanec, PhD
Assistant Professor, Nursing
susan.mazanec@case.edu

Peter Mazzone, MD, MPH
Staff, Pulmonary Medicine
mazzonp@ccf.org

Neal J. Meropol, MD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
neal.meropol@case.edu

Halle C.F. Moore, MD
Staff, Solid Tumor Oncology
mooreh1@ccf.org

Shirley M. Moore, PhD, RN
Professor, Nursing
smm8@case.edu

Nora L. Nock, PhD
Associate Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics
nln@case.edu

Phyllis Nsiah-Kumi, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor, Internal Medicine- Women's Health
phyllis.nsiah-kumi@va.gov

Elizabeth E. O'Toole, MD
Professor, Medicine-Geriatrics, Bioethics
exo5@case.edu

Cynthia Owusu, MD, MSc
Assistant Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
cynthia.owusu@case.edu

Holly J. Pederson, MD
Assistant Professor, Breast Services
pedersh@ccf.org

Johnie Rose, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
johnie.rose@case.edu

Eileen Saffran, MSW
Senior Clinical Instructor, Family Medicine
saffran@touchedbycancer.org

Kurt C. Stange, MD, PhD
Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
kcs@case.edu

Mary M. Step, PhD
Assistant Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
mary.step@case.edu

Cheryl L. Thompson, PhD
Assistant Professor, Nutrition
cheryl.l.thompson@case.edu

Erika S. Trapl, PhD
Assistant Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics
erika.trapl@case.edu

Michelle Treasure, MD
Assistant Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
mtreasure@metrohealth.org

Carl V. Tyler, Jr., MD, MS
Associate Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
catyle@ccf.org

Aaron Weinberg, DMD, PhD
Professor, Dental Medicine-Biological Sciences
axw47@case.edu

James J. Werner, PhD
Associate Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
james.werner@case.edu

Chad A. Zender, MD
Assistant Professor, Otolaryngology
chad.zender@UHhospitals.org

Amy Y. Zhang, PhD
Associate Professor, Nursing
amy.zhang@case.edu

Program Leaders

Gregory S. Cooper, MD
Professor, Medicine-Gastroenterology
gxc12@case.edu

Susan A. Flocke, PhD
Associate Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
susan.flocke@case.edu

CALL FOR APPLICATIONS: Cancer Prevention, Control & Population Research Program

The Cancer Prevention, Control and Population Research Program of the Case Comprehensive Cancer Center is requesting pilot project proposals that include new research collaborations between two members of the Prevention Program or new inter-programmatic research collaborations. A new collaboration is defined as one between two members who have not co-authored a publication or served as collaborators on a peer-reviewed grant within the past three years. The highest priority will be given to projects that will likely lead to an extramurally funded grant application and align with one of the four focus areas of the program: Health Promotion and Interventions to Decrease Cancer Risk, Cancer Epidemiology, Risk Prediction and Decision Making, and Quality of Life and Survivorship.
 
We seek to fund 2-3 pilot projects of up to $20,000 each, depending on merit and programmatic alignment. The project should be completed within 12 months, including human subjects approval. Where possible, the use of Cancer Center Core Facilities is encouraged.

Proposals should include:
  • Cover page with title, investigators, affiliations and contact information
  • Specific aims (1 page)
  • Research strategy (3 pages, not including references) with sections on significance, innovation and approach
  • Budget (faculty salary support and travel are not eligible)
  • NIH biosketch of all investigators
Proposals should be submitted as a single PDF document by October 31, 2015. Please direct any questions about proposal eligibility and submit applications to Greg Cooper at greg.cooper@case.edu.
 
[View as PDF: Prevention-RFA-Sep2015]