Skip to Main Content
CWRU Links
Case Comprehensive Cancer Center

Hematopoietic and Immune Cancer Biology

Hematopoietic and Immune Cancer Biology

Program Themes

The overarching theme of the Hematopoietic and Immune Cancer Biology Program is to clarify the molecular and immune mechanisms of hematopoietic disorders through the study of molecular biology, immune dysfunction and stem cell biology of the hematopoietic system and to translate laboratory findings into clinical applications. An enhanced understanding of basic disease mechanisms provides a strong platform for developing innovative patient-specific approaches for diagnosis and therapy. This strategy is reflected in laboratory-based clinical trials developed to improve outcomes of patients with hematologic disorders.

Program Information

The Program is organized into two scientific focus areas with sub-areas:

  • Bone marrow failure (BMF) and myeloid malignancies, including MDS and MPN
    • Molecular pathogenesis of MDS, MDS/MPN, and sAML
    • AML and APL diagnostics and therapeutics
    • Targeted therapeutics based on differentiation and epigenetic therapies
    • Aplastic anemia (AA), paroxysmal nocturnal hemoglobinuria (PNH),immune cytopenias and T cell large granular lymphocyte leukemia that is evaluating both genetic, and immune abnormalities in these diseases
  • Hematopoietic stem cell biology and transplantation
    • Normal and neoplastic stem cell biology including maintenance, quiescence, niche and differentiation, energy metabolism, notch signaling, intra-vital imaging, and chemo protection
    • Immune cell biology and GVHD, including molecular targets of T cell activation, immune-regulation by MSCs/MAPCs, alternate sites of T cell activation and immuno-genetic polymorphisms such as MICA, KIR and HL and transplant-related inflammation in the host including acute and chronic lung injury
    • HCT including clinical/translational studies related to graft source, mobilization strategies, regenerative stromal cell therapy and late effects/quality of life studies

Program Members

Derek Abbott, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Pathology
Derek.Abbott@case.edu

Anjali S. Advani, MD
Associate Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
advania@ccf.org

Stefanie Avril, MD
Assistant Professor, Pathology
stefanie.avril@case.edu

Joseph Baar, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Medicine-Hematology and Oncology
joseph.baar@UHhospitals.org

Rose Chu Beck, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pathology
rose.beck@case.edu

Brian J. Bolwell, MD
Chair, Taussig Cancer Institute
Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
bolwelb@ccf.org

Paolo Caimi, MD
Assistant Professor, Medicine-Hematology and Oncology
paolo.caimi@case.edu

Arnold I. Caplan, PhD
Professor, Biology
aic@case.edu

Hetty E. Carraway, MD, MBA
Staff, Translational Hematology and Oncology Research
carrawh@ccf.org

Brenda W. Cooper, MD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology and Oncology
brenda.cooper@UHhospitals.org

Kevin D. Cooper, MD
Professor, Dermatology
kevin.cooper@UHhospitals.org

Marcos de Lima, MD
Co-Leader, Hematopoietic and Immune Cancer Biology Program
Professor, Medicine-Hematology and Oncology
marcos.delima@UHhospitals.org

Robert M. Dean, MD
Associate Staff, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
deanr@ccf.org

Clark W. Distelhorst, MD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology and Oncology, Pharmacology
cwd@case.edu

George R. Dubyak, PhD
Professor, Physiology & Biophysics
gxd3@case.edu

Hien Duong, MD
Associate Staff, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
duongh@ccf.org

Robert L. Fairchild, PhD
Professor, Immunology
fairchr@ccf.org

Paul L. Fox, PhD
Professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine
foxp@ccf.org

Brian R. Gastman, MD
Associate Professor, Plastic Surgery and Immunology
gastmab@ccf.org

Aaron T. Gerds, MD, MS
Assistant Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
gerdsa@ccf.org

Thomas A. Gerken, PhD
Professor, Pediatrics
thomas.gerken@case.edu

Stanton L. Gerson, MD
Director, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
Professor, Medicine-Hematology and Oncology
slg5@case.edu

Neetu Gupta, PhD
Assistant Professor, Immunology
guptan@ccf.org

Betty Hamilton, MD
Associate Staff, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
hamiltb2@ccf.org

Rabi Hanna, MD
Assistant Professor, Medicine-Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
hannar2@ccf.org

Clifford V. Harding, MD, PhD
Professor, Pathology
cvh3@case.edu

Brian T. Hill, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
hillb2@ccf.org

Eric D. Hsi, MD
Professor, Clinical Pathology
hsie@ccf.org

Alex Y.C. Huang, MD, PhD
Co-Leader, Hematopoietic and Immune Cancer Biology Program
Associate Professor, Pediatric Hematology and Oncology
alex.y.huang@case.edu

Mukesh K. Jain, MD
Professor, Medicine-Cardiology
mukesh.jain2@case.edu

Matt E. Kalaycio, MD
Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
kalaycm@ccf.org

David R. Kaplan, MD, PhD
Professor, Pathology
drk5@case.edu

Julian A. Kim, MD
Professor, Surgical Oncology
julian.kim@UHhospitals.org

Hillard M. Lazarus, MD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology and Oncology
hillard.lazarus@case.edu

John J. Letterio, MD
Professor, Pediatric Hematology and Oncology
john.letterio@UHhospitals.org

Xiaoxia Li, PhD
Professor, Immunology
lix@ccf.org

Yong Li, PhD
Professor, Cancer Biology
liy2@ccf.org

Michelle S. Longworth, PhD
Assistant Professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine 
longwom@ccf.org

Jaroslaw P. Maciejewski, MD, PhD
Co-Leader, Hematopoietic and Immune Cancer Biology Program
Professor, Translational Hematology and Oncology Research
maciejj@ccf.org

Navneet S. Majhail, MD, MS
Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
majhain@ccf.org

Hideki Makishima, MD, PhD
Staff, Translational Hematology and Oncology Research
makishh@ccf.org

Yousif Matloub, MD
Professor, Pediatric Hematology and Oncology
yousif.matloub@UHhospitals.org

Suparna Mazumder, PhD
Assistant Professor, Immunology
mazumds@ccf.org

Keith R. McCrae, MD
Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
mccraek@ccf.org

M. Edward Medof, MD, PhD
Professor, Pathology
mxm16@case.edu

Howard J. Meyerson, MD
Associate Professor, Clinical Pathology
howard.meyerson@case.edu

Booki Min, PhD, DVM
Assistant Professor, Immunology
minb@ccf.org

Sudipto Mukherjee, MD, PhD, MPH
Assistant Staff, Hematology and Medical Oncology
mukhers2@ccf.org

Reshmi Parameswaran, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pathology
rxp278@case.edu

Agne Petrosiute, MD
Assistant Professor, Pediatric Hematology and Oncology
axp125@case.edu

Gregory E. Plautz, MD
Professor, Pediatric Hematology and Oncology
plautzg@ccf.org

Edward F. Plow, PhD
Professor, Molecular Cardiology
plowe@ccf.org

Brad L. Pohlman, MD
Staff, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
pohlmab@ccf.org

Tomas Radivoyevitch, PhD
Assistant Professor, Quantitative Health Sciences
radivot@ccf.org

Diana L. Ramirez-Bergeron, PhD
Assistant Professor, Medicine-Cardiology
diana.ramirez@case.edu

Yogen Saunthararajah, MD
Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
saunthy@ccf.org

Mikkael A. Sekeres, MD, MS
Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
sekerem@ccf.org

Mitchell R. Smith, MD, PhD
Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
smithm14@ccf.org

Ronald M. Sobecks, MD
Associate Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
sobeckr@ccf.org

Vincent K. Tuohy, PhD
Professor, Immunology
tuohyv@ccf.org

Shaveta Vinayak, MD, MS
Assistant Professor, Medicine-Hematology and Oncology
shaveta.vinayak@UHhospitals.org

David N. Wald, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pathology
dnw@case.edu

Tsan Sam Xiao, PhD
Associate Professor, Pathology
tsx@case.edu

Sichun Yang, PhD
Assistant Professor, Center for Proteomics and Bioinformatics
sichun.yang@case.edu

Qing Yi, MD, PhD
Chair, Cancer Biology
yiq@ccf.org

Jianjun Zhao, MD, PhD
Assistant Staff, Cancer Biology
zhaoj4@ccf.org

Lan Zhou, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Pathology
lan.zhou@case.edu

Program Leaders

Jaroslaw P. Maciejewski, MD, PhD
Professor, Translational Hematology and Oncology Research
maciejj@ccf.org

Marcos de Lima, MD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
marcos.delima@UHhospitals.org

Alex Y.C. Huang, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
alex.y.huang@case.edu