CWRU Links
GU Malignancies

Program Themes

  • Molecular basis of prostate and renal cancer development and progression
  • Novel biomarkers and tumor-based targets for chemoprevention and treatment
  • Stromal and host factors in prostate and renal cancer including inflammation, immunomodulation and angiogenesis
  • Translational research and novel investigator-initiated clinical trials

Program Information

The overarching goal of the GU Malignancies Program is to explore fundamental biologic pathways of critical importance to the development and progression of prostate and renal cancer and to foster translational, investigator-initiated clinical trials to advance therapeutic options.

To provide additional structure and promote cohesion within the larger Program, investigators have been further organized around two scientific focus areas:

  • Prostate Cancer - includes genetic susceptibility and molecular basis, chemoprevention, molecular biomarkers of prognosis and therapeutic targeting of the IGF and PI3K/Akt/mTOR axis
  • Renal Cancer - includes molecular and clinical biomarkers of prognosis, response and resistance; immunomodulatory effects of treatment, and therapeutic targeting of angiogenesis and the PI3K/Akt/mTOR axis

Program Members

Tatiana V. Byzova, PhD
Assistant Professor, Molecular Cardiology
byzovat@ccf.org

Steven C. Campbell, MD, PhD
Professor, Urology
campbes3@ccf.org

Edward E. Cherullo, MD
Associate Professor, Urology
edward.cherullo@UHhospitals.org

Jay P. Ciezki, MD
Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology
ciezkij@ccf.org

Matthew M. Cooney, MD
Associate Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
matthew.cooney@UHhospitals.org

David Danielpour, PhD
Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
dxd49@case.edu

Joseph A. DiDonato, PhD
Assistant Professor, Cancer Biology
didonaj@ccf.org

James H. Finke, PhD
Professor, Immunology
finkej@ccf.org

Jorge A. Garcia, MD
Assistant Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
garciaj4@ccf.org

Brian R. Gastman, MD
Associate Professor, Plastic Surgery and Immunology
gastmab@ccf.org

Timothy D. Gilligan, MD
Associate Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
gilligt@ccf.org

Sanjay Gupta, PhD
Professor, Urology
sanjay.gupta@case.edu

Hannelore Heemers, PhD
Associate Staff, Cancer Biology
heemerh@ccf.org

Warren D.W. Heston, PhD
Professor, Cancer Biology, Urology
hestonw@ccf.org

Christopher J. Hoimes, DO
Assistant Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
christopher.hoimes@case.edu

Hui (Grace) Jin, PhD
Instructor, Pharmacology
hui.jin@case.edu

Bethany Kerr, PhD
Assistant Professor, Molecular Cardiology
kerrb2@ccf.org

Simon P. Kim, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor, Urology
simon.kim@UHhospitals.org

Eric A. Klein, MD
Professor, Urology
kleine@ccf.org

Gregory T. MacLennan, MD
Professor, Pathology
gregory.maclennan@UHhospitals.org

Cristina Magi-Galluzzi, MD, PhD
Professor, Anatomic Pathology
magic@ccf.org

Carvell Nguyen, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Surgery-Urology
cnguyen4@metrohealth.org

Lee E. Ponsky, MD
Associate Professor, Urology
lee.ponsky@UHhospitals.org

Brian I. Rini, MD
Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
rinib2@ccf.org

Nima Sharifi, MD
Associate Professor, Cancer Biology
sharifn@ccf.org

Robert H. Silverman, PhD
Professor, Cancer Biology
silverr@ccf.org

Jonathan D. Smith, PhD
Professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine
smithj4@ccf.org

Andrew J. Stephenson, MD
Associate Professor, Urology
stephea2@ccf.org

Giuseppe Strangi, PhD
Professor, Physics
gxs284@case.edu

Charles S. Tannenbaum, PhD
Assistant Professor, Immunology
tannenc@ccf.org

Angela H. Ting, PhD
Assistant Professor, Molecular Medicine
tinga@ccf.org

Bing-Cheng Wang, PhD
Professor, Medicine-Nephrology
bxw14@case.edu

Ping Xia, PhD
Professor, Radiation Oncology
xiap@ccf.org

Hui Zhu, MD
Assistant Professor, Urology
hui.zhu@UHhospitals.org

Program Leaders

 

Brian I. Rini, MD
Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
rinib2@ccf.org

 

Nima Sharifi, MD
Associate Professor, Cancer Biology
sharifn@ccf.org

Call for Proposals: Multi-investigator Grants Aligned with Themes of the GU Malignancies Program

Funds have been allocated for multi-investigator grants that are aligned with the themes of the GU Malignancies Program of the Case Comprehensive Cancer Center. We anticipate funding TWO one-year awards with $30,000 of support.
 
The GU program is in need of 1) projects that are aligned with programmatic strengths and interests (such as, but not limited, to androgen signaling in prostate cancer and immunotherapy across GU malignancies) with an eye toward the eventual development of program project grants, and 2) the genesis and development of new ideas from investigators not traditionally in the GU program, as well as new avenues for established GU investigators. Funding decisions will therefore be made with regard to 1) the potential of a project to contribute to a GU program project grant and 2) whether the proposal has fresh ideas with high impact potential.
 
Proposals should have:
  • Cover page that includes proposal title, investigator(s), affiliations and contact information
  • Brief budget
  • NIH biosketch of each investigator
  • Proposal that is no more than 2 pages in length (not including references). Each proposal should include an explicit statement about the potential fit into a program project or about the novelty of the proposal, as per the needs of the GU Malignancies Program.
Please send proposals to sharifn@ccf.org and rinib2@ccf.org by October 1, 2015.