Skip to Main Content
CWRU Links
Case Comprehensive Cancer Center

Developmental Therapeutics

Developmental Therapeutics

Program Information

The overarching goal of the Developmental Therapeutics Program (DTP) is to identify and evaluate innovative and novel drugs that will overcome intrinsic cancer cell proliferation and survival mechanisms and to translate these findings into the clinic. The program seeks an enhanced understanding of factors influencing cell replication and signaling that can to be influenced by novel anti-cancer agents. The program leaders foster an environment for facilitated interaction of bench scientists and clinicians involved in anticancer drug development and thus provide a platform for improved patient outcomes. The DTP encourages both bench to bedside as well as bedside to bench research.

Bench to Bedside

Program Themes

  • To facilitate discovery and clinical development of novel anti-cancer agents targeting DNA including the following:
    • DNA polymerase, ribonucleotide reductase and nucleoside analogues
    • DNA repair
    • Epigenetics and differentiation
  • To augment research and discovery of novel strategies for therapeutic targeting of tumor signal transduction and the microenvironment including the following:
    • Signal transduction
    • Phosphatase inhibition
    • Microenvironment including endothelial and immune factors

Program Activities

Early Phase Therapeutics Opportunity Meeting
Second Wednesday of the month at 5 pm in Wolstein Research Building 2-136

Academic Drug Development Seminar
Fourth Wednesday of the month at 4 pm at the Global Cardiovascular Innovation Center (10000 Cedar Avenue)

Program Announcements

NCI CTEP Agents
The NCI has relationships with a variety of biotech and pharmaceutical companies to provide access to new agents for either preclinical or clinical studies. To view the current NCI portfolio, visit the CTEP website and view "CTEP Agents and Active Agreements" located in the "Agents/Drugs" page under the Protocol Development tab.

If you are interested in working with any of the agents on the list, please contact Dr. Afshin Dowlati at afshin.dowlati@case.edu.

Pilot Funds
There are limited funds available for pilot projects for members of the Case Comprehensive Cancer Center for:

  • Performing correlative and biomarker studies on physician investigator initiated studies
  • Performing pharmacokinetics on early phase trials

If you are interested in applying‌ for pilot funds from DTP:

Program Members

Jame Abraham, MD
Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
abrahaj5@ccf.org

David J. Adelstein, MD
Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
adelstd@ccf.org

Drew Adams, PhD
Assistant Professor, Genetics & Genome Sciences
dja59@case.edu

Manmeet S. Ahluwalia, MD
Associate Professor, Brain Tumor and Neuro-Oncology Center
ahluwam@ccf.org

James M. Anderson, MD, PhD
Professor, Pathology
james.anderson@case.edu

Bruce J. Averbook, MD
Professor, Surgery
baverbook@metrohealth.org

Gene H. Barnett, MD
Professor, Brain Tumor and Neuro-Oncology Center
barnetg@ccf.org

Elma D. Baron, MD
Professor, Dermatology
edb4@case.edu

Jerome L. Belinson, MD
Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology
belinsj@ccf.org

Anthony J. Berdis, PhD
Assistant Professor, Chemistry
a.berdis@csuohio.edu

Tithi Biswas, MD
Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology
tithi.biswas@UHhospitals.org

Joseph A. Bokar, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Medicine/Hematology-Oncology
jab5@case.edu

Matthias Buck, PhD
Associate Professor, Physiology & Biophysics
mxb150@case.edu

G. Thomas Budd, MD
Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
buddg@ccf.org

Clemens Burda, PhD
Professor, Chemistry
cxb77@case.edu

Chee-Wai Cheng, PhD
Professor, Radiation Oncology
chee-wai.cheng@UHhospitals.org

Mellar P. Davis, MD, FCCP
Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
davism6@ccf.org

Peter de Blank, MD
Assistant Professor, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
peter.deBlank@UHhospitals.org

Chris G. Dealwis, PhD
Associate Professor, Pharmacology, Proteomics
cxd114@case.edu

Afshin Dowlati, MD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
axd44@case.edu

Jennifer R. Eads, MD
Assistant Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
jennifer.eads@UHhospitals.org

Rachel A. Egler, MD, MS
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
rachel.egler@UHhospitals.org

Paul J. Elson, ScD
Associate Staff, Quantitative Health Sciences
elsonp@ccf.org

Pingfu Fu, PhD
Associate Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics
pxf16@case.edu

Stanton L. Gerson, MD
Director, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
slg5@case.edu

Michael K. Gibson, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
michael.gibson@UHhospitals.org

Stephen R. Grobmyer, MD
Staff, General Surgery
grobmys@ccf.org

Jeffrey M. Hardacre, MD
Associate Professor, Surgery
jeffrey.hardacre@UHhospitals.org

Kord Honda, MD
Associate Professor, Dermatology
kord.honda@UHhospitals.org

Charles L. Hoppel, MD
Professor, Clinical Pharmacology
clh5@case.edu

Ritika Jaini, MD
Assistant Professor, Immunology
jainir@ccf.org

Damir Janigro, PhD
Professor, Cell Biology
janigrd@ccf.org

Malcolm E. Kenney, PhD
Professor, Chemistry
mek9@case.edu

Alok Khorana, MD
Staff, Solid Tumor Oncology
khorana@ccf.org

Smitha S. Krishnamurthi, MD
Associate Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
ssk7@case.edu

Gary E. Landreth, PhD
Professor, Neurosciences
gel2@case.edu

Pierre Lavertu, MD
Professor, Otolaryngology
pierre.lavertu@UHhospitals.org

Richard T. Lee, MD
Associate Professor, Medicine - Hematology and Oncology
richard.t.lee@case.edu

Nathan A. Levitan, MD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
nathan.levitan@UHhospitals.org

Benjamin Li, MD
Director, Cancer Center, MetroHealth Medical Center 
Professor, Surgical Oncology
bli@metrohealth.org

Philip A. Linden, MD
Chief and Associate Professor, Division of Thoracic and Esophageal Surgery
philip.linden@UHhospitals.org

Daniel J. Lindner, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Cancer Biology
lindned@ccf.org

John J. Mieyal, PhD
Professor, Pharmacology
jjm5@case.edu

Alberto Montero, MD
Staff, Solid Tumor Oncology
montero2@ccf.org

Goutham Narla, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Medicine and Transformative Molecular Medicine
gxn71@case.edu

Robin E. Norris, MD, MS, MPH
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics-Hematology/Oncology
robin.norris@UHhospitals.org

Timothy E. O'Brien, MD
Associate Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
tobrien@metrohealth.org

Richard A. Padgett, PhD
Professor, Molecular Genetics
padgetr@ccf.org

David M. Peereboom, MD
Professor, Brain Tumor and Neuro-Oncology Center
peerebd@ccf.org

Nathan A. Pennell, MD, PhD
Associate Staff, Solid Tumor Oncology
penneln@ccf.org

James G. Phillips, PhD
Project Staff, Translational Hematology & Oncology
phillij5@ccf.org

John J. Pink, PhD
Assistant Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
john.pink@case.edu

Jun Qin, PhD
Professor, Molecular Cardiology
qinj@ccf.org

Kimberly Resnick, MD
Assistant Professor, Medicine-Gynecologic Oncology
kresnick@metrohealth.org

Frederic J. Reu, MD
Assistant Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
reuf@ccf.org

Lisa R. Rogers, DO
Professor, Neurology
lisa.rogers1@UHhospitals.org

Peter G. Rose, MD
Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology
rosep@ccf.org

Yogen Saunthararajah, MD
Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
saunthy@ccf.org

Mark D. Schluchter, PhD
Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics
mds11@case.edu

Robert R. Shenk, MD
Associate Professor, Surgery
robert.shenk@UHhospitals.org

Dale R. Shepard, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
shepard@ccf.org

Girish C. Shukla, PhD
Associate Professor, Biology
g.shukla@csuohio.edu

Paula Silverman, MD
Associate Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
paula.silverman@uhhospitals.org

Andrew E. Sloan, MD
Professor, Neurological Surgery
andrew.sloan@UHhospitals.org

Davendra Sohal, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
sohald@ccf.org

David W. Stepnick, MD, FACS
Associate Professor, Otolaryngology
david.stepnick@UHhospitals.org

James P. Stevenson, MD
Associate Staff, Solid Tumor Oncology
stevenj5@ccf.org

Jean T. Stevenson, MD
Associate Professor, Surgery
jstevenson@metrohealth.org

John H. Suh, MD
Professor, Radiation Oncology
suhj@ccf.org

Lois Teston, MD
Assistant Professor, Hematology and Oncology
lois.teston@UHhospitals.org

Gregory P. Tochtrop, PhD
Associate Professor, Chemistry
gpt6@case.edu

Joan E. Trey, MD
Associate Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
jet2@case.edu

Vamsidhar Velcheti, MD
Assistant Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
velchev@ccf.org

Michael A. Vogelbaum, MD, PhD
Professor, Neurosurgery
vogelbm@ccf.org

Steven E. Waggoner, MD
Professor, Reproductive Biology
steven.waggoner@UHhospitals.org

David N. Wald, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pathology
dnw@case.edu

Yan Xu, PhD
Professor, Chemistry
yan.xu@case.edu

Sichun Yang, PhD
Assistant Professor, Center for Proteomics and Bioinformatics
sichun.yang@case.edu

Vivien C. Yee, PhD
Associate Professor, Biochemistry
vcy2@case.edu

Kristine M. Zanotti, MD
Associate Professor, Reproductive Biology
kristine.zanotti@UHhospitals.org

Maciej Zborowski, PhD
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
zborowm@ccf.org

Program Leaders

‌‌

Afshin Dowlati, MD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
axd44@case.edu

Yogen Saunthararajah, MD
Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
saunthy@ccf.org

CALL FOR APPLICATIONS: Developmental Therapeutics Program

The Developmental Therapeutics Program (DTP) is soliciting small research grant applications focused on supporting pilot projects that will build upon and promote intra-programmatic and possibly inter-programmatic (with the main applicant a member of DTP) collaborations. The expectation is that these collaborative awards will generate novel concepts and research data with a high likelihood of leading to successful, future, extramural grant funding. This current opportunity will fund 3 awards of up to $20,000 each. One award will potentially be dedicated to specific instrumentation acquisition that will ultimately assist multiple DTP member projects and the generation of preliminary data for future grant submissions.
 
Application Outline:
  • Specific Aims (1 page)
  • Research Strategy (4 pages) o Significance
    • Innovation
    • Approach 
  • Budget and budget justification
  • Biosketches: Include an NIH-style biosketch for the PI and any other designated key personnel.
Please note that the application itself should be 5-pages (or less) in length for the specific aims and research strategy. Biosketches and budget documents do not count in the page limit. In addition, the application should be organized according to NIH format. Projects proposed in response to this announcement should be able to be accomplished in 12 months. Applicants may submit only one application as Principal Investigator but can serve as key personnel (Co-Investigator) on other proposals.
 
Proposals should be submitted electronically as a single PDF document by October 20, 2015 to Afshin Dowlati at axd44@case.edu. The proposals will be reviewed by a selection committee that will consist of a specially convened group composed of members from the Case Comprehensive Cancer Center. 
 
[View as PDF: DTP-RFA-Sep2015]