Skip to Main Content
CWRU Links
Case Comprehensive Cancer Center

Developmental Therapeutics

Developmental Therapeutics

Program Information

The overarching goal of the Developmental Therapeutics Program (DTP) is to identify and evaluate innovative and novel drugs that will overcome intrinsic cancer cell proliferation and survival mechanisms and to translate these findings into the clinic. The program seeks an enhanced understanding of factors influencing cell replication and signaling that can to be influenced by novel anti-cancer agents. The program leaders foster an environment for facilitated interaction of bench scientists and clinicians involved in anticancer drug development and thus provide a platform for improved patient outcomes. The DTP encourages both bench to bedside as well as bedside to bench research.

Bench to Bedside

Program Themes

  • To facilitate discovery and clinical development of novel anti-cancer agents targeting DNA including the following:
    • DNA polymerase, ribonucleotide reductase and nucleoside analogues
    • DNA repair
    • Epigenetics and differentiation
  • To augment research and discovery of novel strategies for therapeutic targeting of tumor signal transduction and the microenvironment including the following:
    • Signal transduction
    • Phosphatase inhibition
    • Microenvironment including endothelial and immune factors

Program Activities

Developmental Therapeutics Journal Club
Thursdays at 9am in the 4th floor conference room of the ORIGINAL Taussig Cancer Institute, the ‘R’ building (room R4-013). Breakfast and free parking is provided by a DT Co-Leader.

Program Announcements

NCI CTEP Agents
The NCI has relationships with a variety of biotech and pharmaceutical companies to provide access to new agents for either preclinical or clinical studies. To view the current NCI portfolio, visit the CTEP website and view "CTEP Agents and Active Agreements" located in the "Agents/Drugs" page under the Protocol Development tab.

If you are interested in working with any of the agents on the list, please contact Dr. Afshin Dowlati at afshin.dowlati@case.edu.

Pilot Funds
There are limited funds available for pilot projects for members of the Case Comprehensive Cancer Center for:

  • Performing correlative and biomarker studies on physician investigator initiated studies
  • Performing pharmacokinetics on early phase trials

If you are interested in applying‌ for pilot funds from DTP:

Program Members

Mohamed Abazeed, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Translational Hematology and Oncology Research
abazeem@ccf.org

Jame Abraham, MD
Professor, Hematology and Medical Oncology
abrahaj5@ccf.org

Drew Adams, PhD
Assistant Professor, Genetics & Genome Sciences
dja59@case.edu

David J. Adelstein, MD
Professor, Hematology and Medical Oncology
adelstd@ccf.org

Manmeet S. Ahluwalia, MD
Visiting Assistant Professor, Brain Tumor and Neuro-Oncology Center
ahluwam@ccf.org

James M. Anderson, MD, PhD
Professor, Pathology
james.anderson@case.edu

Bruce J. Averbook, MD
Professor, Oncology
baverbook@metrohealth.org

Gene H. Barnett, MD
Professor, Brain Tumor and Neuro-Oncology Center
barnetg@ccf.org

Elma D. Baron, MD
Associate Professor, Dermatology
edb4@case.edu

Jerome L. Belinson, MD
Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology
belinsj@ccf.org

Anthony J. Berdis, PhD
Assistant Professor, Chemistry
a.berdis@csuohio.edu

Tithi Biswas, MBBS, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology
tithi.biswas@UHhospitals.org

Joseph A. Bokar, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Hematology and Oncology
jab5@case.edu

G. Thomas Budd, MD
Professor, Hematology and Medical Oncology
buddg@ccf.org

Clemens Burda, PhD
Professor, Chemistry
cxb77@case.edu

Chee-Wai Cheng, PhD
Professor, Medical Physics
chee-wai.cheng@UHhospitals.org

Chris G. Dealwis, PhD
Associate Professor, Pharmacology
cxd114@case.edu

Peter de Blank, MD
Assistant Professor, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
peter.deBlank@UHhospitals.org

Analisa DiFeo, PhD
Assistant Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
analisa.difeo@case.edu

Afshin Dowlati, MD
Professor, Hematology and Oncology
axd44@case.edu

Jennifer R. Eads, MD
Assistant Professor, Hematology and Oncology
jennifer.eads@UHhospitals.org

Rachel A. Egler, MD, MS
Assistant Professor, Hematology and Oncology
rachel.egler@UHhospitals.org

Paul J. Elson, ScD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Quantitative Health Sciences
elsonp@ccf.org

Pingfu Fu, PhD
Associate Professor, Population and Quantitative Health Sciences
pxf16@case.edu

Stanton L. Gerson, MD
Director, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
slg5@case.edu

Meg R. Gerstenblith, MD
Assistant Professor, Dermatology
meg.gerstenblith@UHhospitals.org

Michael K. Gibson, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Hematology and Oncology
michael.gibson@UHhospitals.org

Stephen R. Grobmyer, MD
Professor, Breast Center
grobmys@ccf.org

Jeffrey M. Hardacre, MD
Associate Professor, Surgery
jeffrey.hardacre@UHhospitals.org

Kord S. Honda, MD
Associate Professor, Dermatology
kord.honda@UHhospitals.org

Ritika Jaini, PhD
Assistant Professor, Immunology
jainir@ccf.org

Alok Khorana, MD
Professor, Hematology and Medical Oncology
khorana@ccf.org

Smitha S. Krishnamurthi, MD
Associate Professor, Hematology and Oncology
ssk7@case.edu

Gary E. Landreth, PhD
Professor, Neurosciences
gel2@case.edu

Pierre Lavertu, MD
Professor, Otolaryngology
pierre.lavertu@UHhospitals.org

Richard T. Lee, MD
Associate Professor, Hematology and Oncology
richard.t.lee@case.edu

John J. Letterio, MD
Professor, Hematology and Oncology
john.letterio@UHhospitals.org

Liraz Levi, PhD, MSc
Instructor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
lxl301@case.edu

Nathan A. Levitan, MD
Professor, Hematology and Oncology
nathan.levitan@UHhospitals.org

Benjamin D. Li, MD
Director, Cancer Center, MetroHealth Medical Center 
Professor, Oncology
bli@metrohealth.org

Philip A. Linden, MD
Associate Professor, Surgery
philip.linden@UHhospitals.org

Daniel J. Lindner, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Cancer Biology
lindned@ccf.org

Janice A. Lyons, MD
Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology
janice.lyons@UHhospitals.org

Haider Mahdi, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology
mahdih@ccf.org

Edward V. Maytin, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering
janice.lyons@UHhospitals.org

John J. Mieyal, PhD
Professor, Pharmacology
jjm5@case.edu

Alberto J. Montero, MBA, MD
Associate Professor, Hematology and Medicla Oncology
montero2@ccf.org

Goutham Narla, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, General Medicine
gxn71@case.edu

Robin E. Norris, MD, MS, MPH
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics-Hematology/Oncology
robin.norris@UHhospitals.org

Timothy E. O'Brien, MD
Associate Professor, Hematology and Oncology
tobrien@metrohealth.org

Richard A. Padgett, PhD
Professor, Molecular Genetics
padgetr@ccf.org

David M. Peereboom, MD
Professor, Brain Tumor and Neuro-Oncology Center
peerebd@ccf.org

Nathan A. Pennell, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Hematology and Medical Oncology
penneln@ccf.org

James G. Phillips, PhD
Assistant Professor, Translational Hematology and Oncology Research
phillij5@ccf.org

Irina Pikuleva, PhD
Professor, Pharmacology
irina.pikuleva@case.edu

John J. Pink, PhD
Assistant Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
john.pink@case.edu

Kimberly E. Resnick, MD
Assistant Professor, Gynecologic Oncology
kresnick@metrohealth.org

Lisa R. Rogers, DO
Professor, Neurology
lisa.rogers1@UHhospitals.org

Peter G. Rose, MD
Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology
rosep@ccf.org

Yogen Saunthararajah, MD
Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
saunthy@ccf.org

Mark D. Schluchter, PhD
Professor, Population and Quantitative Health Sciences
mds11@case.edu

Robert R. Shenk, MD
Associate Professor, Surgical Oncology
robert.shenk@UHhospitals.org

Dale R. Shepard, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Hematology and Medical Oncology
shepard@ccf.org

Girish C. Shukla, PhD
Associate Professor, Biological, Geological, and Environmental Sciences
g.shukla@csuohio.edu

Paula Silverman, MD
Associate Professor, Hematology and Oncology
paula.silverman@uhhospitals.org

Sareena Singh, MD
Assistant Professor, Gynecologic Oncology
ssingh3@metrohealth.org

Andrew E. Sloan, MD
Professor, Neurological Surgery
andrew.sloan@UHhospitals.org

Davendra P.S. Sohal, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor, Hematology and Medical Oncology
sohald@ccf.org

David W. Stepnick, MD, FACS
Associate Professor, Otolaryngology
david.stepnick@UHhospitals.org

James P. Stevenson, MD
Associate Staff, Hematology and Medical Oncology
stevenj5@ccf.org

Jean T. Stevenson, MD
Associate Professor, Surgery
jstevenson@metrohealth.org

John H. Suh, MD
Professor, Radiation Oncology
suhj@ccf.org

Lois Teston, MD
Assistant Professor, Hematology and Oncology
lois.teston@UHhospitals.org

Gregory P. Tochtrop, PhD
Associate Professor, Chemistry
gpt6@case.edu

Joan E. Trey, MD
Associate Professor, Hematology and Oncology
jet2@case.edu

Vamsidhar Velcheti, MD
Assistant Professor, Hematology and Medical Oncology
velchev@ccf.org

Michael A. Vogelbaum, MD, PhD
Professor, Neurosurgery
vogelbm@ccf.org

Steven E. Waggoner, MD
Associate Professor, Reproductive Biology
steven.waggoner@UHhospitals.org

David N. Wald, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pathology
dnw@case.edu

Yan Xu, PhD
Professor, Chemistry
yan.xu@case.edu

Kristine M. Zanotti, MD
Associate Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology
kristine.zanotti@UHhospitals.org

Maciej Zborowski, PhD
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
zborowm@ccf.org

Program Leaders

John J. Letterio, MD
Professor, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
john.letterio@UHhospitals.org

Yogen Saunthararajah, MD
Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
saunthy@ccf.org