CWRU Links
Cancer Genetics

Program Focus Areas

The Cancer Genetics Program is organized around three broad scientific Focus Areas:

  • To elucidate the role of tumor suppressor genes and oncogenes in the genesis of human cancers
  • To identify cancer susceptibility genes active in the human population and to develop new molecular assays for cancer risk assessment and for cancer early detection
  • To develop new methods and model systems for the discovery of cancer causing genes, and to advance application of cancer genetics to clinical cancer care

These Focus Areas intersect with a specific disease emphasis on gastrointestinal cancers, particularly colon cancers and adenocarcinomas of the esophagus, but have also led to significant advances in understanding other tumors including human sarcomas, brain and breast tumors.

Program Information

The leaders of the Cancer Genetics Program established an internationally recognized team science oriented program deciphering the genetic origins of cancers with a focus particularly in colon cancers and adenocarcinomas of the esophagus, but have also led to significant advances in understanding other tumors including human sarcomas.

The Program is supported by numerous multi-investigator grants, including a newly awarded GI SPORE, and program members have made multiple seminal observations and discoveries that include finding: causative genes for colon cancer, a molecular screening test for colon cancer, and alterations in histone methylation at target gene enhancers that acts as an epigenetic signature of colon cancer.

Program Members

Mohamed Abazeed, MD, PhD
Associate Staff, Translational Hematology and Oncology Research
abazeem@ccf.org

Jill S. Barnholtz-Sloan, PhD
Associate Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
jsb42@case.edu

Nathan A. Berger, MD
Director, Center for Science, Health and Society
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
nab@case.edu

Amitabh Chak, MD, MS
Professor, Medicine-Gastroenterology
axc22@case.edu

Mark R. Chance, PhD
Professor, General Medical Sciences
mark.chance@case.edu

Linda S. Cummings, MD
Assistant Professor, Gastroenterology
linda.cummings@case.edu

Dawn M. Dawson, MD
Assistant Professor, Pathology
dmd2@case.edu

Jean-Eudes J. Dazard, PhD
Assistant Professor, Center for Proteomics and Bioinformatics–Bioinformatics Division
jxd101@case.edu

Robert C. Elston, PhD
Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics
robert.elston@case.edu

Stephen Fink, PhD
Assistant Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology 
stephen.fink@case.edu

Claudio Fiocchi, MD
Professor, Pathobiology, Gastroenterology
fiocchc@ccf.org

Meg Gerstenblith, MD
Assistant Professor, Dermatology
meg.gerstenblith@UHhospitals.org

Kishore Guda, DVM, PhD
Assistant Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
gkishore@yahoo.com

Peter J. Harte, PhD
Professor, Genetics
pjh3@case.edu

Marian L. (Nikki) Harter, PhD
Associate Professor, Biochemistry
mnh5@case.edu

Emina Huang, MD
Professor, Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
huange2@ccf.org

Sudha K. Iyengar, PhD
Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics
ski@case.edu

Eckhard Jankowsky, PhD
Professor, Biochemistry
exj13@case.edu

Mehmet Koyutürk, PhD
Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
mxk331@case.edu

Thomas LaFramboise, PhD
Associate Professor, Genetics
txl80@case.edu

Jing Li, PhD
Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
jingli@case.edu

Hua Lou, PhD
Associate Professor, Genetics
hxl47@case.edu

Guangbin Luo, PhD
Associate Professor, Genetics
gxl35@case.edu

Sanford D. Markowitz, MD, PhD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
sxm10@case.edu

Alexander Miron, PhD
Associate Professor, Genetics and Genome Sciences
alexander.miron@case.edu

Timothy W. Nilsen, PhD
Professor, RNA Molecular Biology
twn@case.edu

Z. Meral Ozsoyoglu, PhD
Professor, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
meral@case.edu

Brian P. Rubin, MD, PhD
Professor, Anatomic Pathology, Molecular Genetics
rubinb2@ccf.org

Kurt W. Runge, PhD
Associate Professor, Molecular Genetics
rungek@ccf.org

Peter C. Scacheri, PhD
Associate Professor, Genetics & Genome Sciences
pxs183@case.edu

W. David Sedwick, PhD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
wds@case.edu

David Serre, PhD
Assistant Professor, Genetics
serred@ccf.org

Scott A. Strong, MD
Staff, Colorectal Surgery
strongs@ccf.org

Paul J. Tesar, PhD
Associate Professor, Genetics
paul.tesar@case.edu

Saba Valadkhan, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, RNA Molecular Biology
saba.valadkhan@case.edu

Vinay Varadan, PhD
Assistant Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
vxv89@case.edu

Martina L. Veigl, PhD
Associate Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
mlv2@case.edu

Zhenghe John Wang, PhD
Associate Professor, Genetics
zxw22@case.edu

Joseph E. Willis, MD
Associate Professor, Pathology
joseph.willis@case.edu

Anthony Wynshaw-Boris, MD, PhD
Professor and Chair, Genetics and Genome Sciences
ajw168@case.edu

Guang Zhou, PhD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedics
guang.zhou@case.edu

Program Leaders

Sanford D. Markowitz, MD, PhD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
sxm10@case.edu

Zhenghe John Wang, PhD
Associate Professor, Genetics
zxw22@case.edu