GI SPORE

In September 2011, the Case Comprehensive Cancer Center was awarded an $11.3 million research grant to establish a GI SPORE- GI Cancers Research Center at Case Western Reserve University.

faculty

With this designation, CWRU joins only six other nationally recognized GI Specialized Program of Research Excellence (SPORE) Center in the country. Researchers from CWRU, University Hospitals Seidman Cancer Center and Cleveland Clinic, all members of the cancer center, collaborate in the research effort.

For more information about the SPORE program, please visit the NCI SPORE website.



SPORE Faculty

Sanford D. Markowitz, MD, PhD, SPORE Principal Investigator
Co-Leader, Project 1
Director, Core A

Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
sxm10@case.edu

Nathan A. Berger, MD, SPORE Co-Principal Investigator
Co-Director, Core A
Director, Center for Science, Health and Society
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
nab@case.edu

Mark D. Adams, PhD
Consultant, Core D
Professor and Scientific Director, J. Craig Venter Institute
madams@jcvi.org

Jill S. Barnholtz-Sloan, PhD
Director, Core C
Associate Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
jsb42@case.edu

Amitabh Chak, MD, MS
Co-Leader, Project 4
Professor, Medicine-Gastroenterology
axc22@case.edu

Gregory S. Cooper, MD
Co-Leader, Project 2
Professor, Medicine-Gastroenterology
gxc12@case.edu

Robert C. Elston, PhD
Co-Leader, Project 4
Co-Director, Core C

Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics
robert.elston@case.edu

John Goldblum, MD
Professor, Pathology
goldblj@ccf.org

Janet A. Houghton, PhD
Professor, Cancer Biology
houghtj@ccf.org

Li Li, MD, PhD
Co-Leader, Project 2
Professor, Family Medicine
lxl62@case.edu

Neal J. Meropol, MD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
neal.meropol@case.edu

Helen Moinova, PhD
Instructor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
helen.moinova@case.edu

John J. Pink, PhD
Co-Director, Core B
Assistant Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
john.pink@case.edu

Martina L. Veigl, PhD
Director, Core D
Associate Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
mlv2@case.edu

Zhenghe John Wang, PhD
Co-Leader, Project 3
Associate Professor, Genetics
zxw22@case.edu

Joseph E. Willis, MD
Co-Leader, Project 3
Director, Core B

Associate Professor, Pathology
joseph.willis@case.edu

James K.V. Willson, MD
Co-Leader, Project 1
Director and Professor, Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center
james.willson@utsouthwestern.edu