Developmental Therapeutics

Program Leaders

Afshin Dowlati, MD

Afshin Dowlati, MD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
axd44@case.edu

Yogen Saunthararajah, MD

Yogen Saunthararajah, MD
Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
saunthy@ccf.org


Program Information

The overarching goal of the Developmental Therapeutics Program (DTP) is to identify and evaluate innovative and novel drugs that will overcome intrinsic cancer cell proliferation and survival mechanisms and to translate these findings into the clinic. The program seeks an enhanced understanding of factors influencing cell replication and signaling that can to be influenced by novel anti-cancer agents. The program leaders foster an environment for facilitated interaction of bench scientists and clinicians involved in anticancer drug development and thus provide a platform for improved patient outcomes. The DTP encourages both bench to bedside as well as bedside to bench research.

Bench to Bedside


Program Themes


  1. To facilitate discovery and clinical development of novel anti-cancer agents targeting DNA including the following:
    • DNA polymerase, ribonucleotide reductase and nucleoside analogues
    • DNA repair
    • Epigenetics and differentiation
  2. To augment research and discovery of novel strategies for therapeutic targeting of tumor signal transduction and the microenvironment including the following:
    • Signal transduction
    • Phosphatase inhibition
    • Microenvironment including endothelial and immune factors

Program Activities

Early Phase Clinical Trials Meetings
Third Wednesday of the month at 5 pm in Wolstein Research Building 2-136

In Development
Center for Cancer Drug Development


Program Announcements

NCI CTEP Agents
The NCI has relationships with a variety of biotech and pharmaceutical companies to provide access to new agents for either preclinical or clinical studies. To view the current NCI portfolio, visit the CTEP website and view "CTEP Agents and Active Agreements" located under the Protocol Development tab.

If you are interested in working with any of the agents on the list, please contact Dr. Afshin Dowlati at afshin.dowlati@case.edu.

Pilot Funds
There are limited funds available for pilot projects for members of the Case Comprehensive Cancer Center for:

  • Performing correlative and biomarker studies on physician investigator initiated studies
  • Performing pharmacokinetics on early phase trials

If you are interested in applying for pilot funds from DTP:

  • Print the application.
  • Submit the application(s) to Marybeth.lipka@uhhospitals.org.
  • Applications will be reviewed by the Developmental Therapeutic Program Core Committee and you will be notified of the status of your application within 4-8 weeks.

Program Members

David J. Adelstein, MD
Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
adelstd@ccf.org

Manmeet S. Ahluwalia, MD
Assistant Professor, Brain Tumor and Neuro-Oncology Center
ahluwam@ccf.org

James M. Anderson, MD, PhD
Professor, Pathology
james.anderson@case.edu

Bruce J. Averbook, MD
Associate Professor, Surgery
baverbook@metrohealth.org

Gene H. Barnett, MD
Professor, Brain Tumor and Neuro-Oncology Center
barnetg@ccf.org

Elma D. Baron, MD
Associate Professor, Dermatology
edb4@case.edu

Jerome L. Belinson, MD
Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology
belinsj@ccf.org

Anthony J. Berdis, PhD
Assistant Professor, Chemistry
a.berdis@csuohio.edu

Tithi Biswas, MD
Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology
tithi.biswas@UHhospitals.org

Joseph A. Bokar, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Medicine/Hematology-Oncology
jab5@case.edu

Ernest C. Borden, MD
Professor, Translational Hematology and Oncology Research
bordene@ccf.org

Matthias Buck, PhD
Associate Professor, Physiology & Biophysics
mxb150@case.edu

Clemens Burda, PhD
Professor, Chemistry
cxb77@case.edu

Chee-Wai Cheng, PhD
Professor, Radiation Oncology
chee-wai.cheng@UHhospitals.org

Mellar P. Davis, MD, FCCP
Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
davism6@ccf.org

Peter de Blank, MD
Assistant Professor, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
peter.deBlank@UHhospitals.org

Chris G. Dealwis, PhD
Associate Professor, Pharmacology, Proteomics
cxd114@case.edu

Afshin Dowlati, MD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
axd44@case.edu

Jennifer R. Eads, MD
Assistant Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
jennifer.eads@UHhospitals.org

Rachel A. Egler, MD, MS
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
rachel.egler@UHhospitals.org

Paul J. Elson, ScD
Associate Staff, Quantitative Health Sciences
elsonp@ccf.org

Yan Feng, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
yan.feng@uhhospitals.org

Lois C. Friedman, PhD
Professor, Psychiatry
lois.friedman@UHhospitals.org

Pingfu Fu, PhD
Associate Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics
pxf16@case.edu

Stanton L. Gerson, MD
Director, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
slg5@case.edu

Michael K. Gibson, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
michael.gibson@UHhospitals.org

Jeffrey M. Hardacre, MD
Associate Professor, Surgery
jeffrey.hardacre@UHhospitals.org

Kord Honda, MD
Associate Professor, Dermatology
kord.honda@UHhospitals.org

Charles L. Hoppel, MD
Professor, Clinical Pharmacology
clh5@case.edu

Damir Janigro, PhD
Professor, Cell Biology
janigrd@ccf.org

Malcolm E. Kenney, PhD
Professor, Chemistry
mek9@case.edu

Alok Khorana, MD
Staff, Solid Tumor Oncology
khorana@ccf.org

Smitha S. Krishnamurthi, MD
Associate Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
ssk7@case.edu

Charles A. Kunos, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Radiation Oncology
kunosc@summahealth.org

Gary E. Landreth, PhD
Professor, Neurosciences
gel2@case.edu

Pierre Lavertu, MD
Professor, Otolaryngology
pierre.lavertu@UHhospitals.org

Nathan A. Levitan, MD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
nathan.levitan@UHhospitals.org

Daniel J. Lindner, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Cancer Biology
lindned@ccf.org

Patrick C. Ma, MD, MSc
Assistant Professor, Translational Hematology and Oncology Research
map@ccf.org

John J. Mieyal, PhD
Professor, Pharmacology
jjm5@case.edu

Charles J. Nock, MD
Assistant Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
charles.nock@UHhospitals.org

Robin E. Norris, MD, MS, MPH
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics-Hematology/Oncology
robin.norris@UHhospitals.org

Timothy E. O'Brien, MD
Associate Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
tobrien@metrohealth.org

Richard A. Padgett, PhD
Professor, Molecular Genetics
padgetr@ccf.org

David M. Peereboom, MD
Professor, Brain Tumor and Neuro-Oncology Center
peerebd@ccf.org

Nathan A. Pennell, MD, PhD
Associate Staff, Solid Tumor Oncology
penneln@ccf.org

James G. Phillips, PhD
Project Staff, Translational Hematology & Oncology
phillij5@ccf.org

Jun Qin, PhD
Professor, Molecular Cardiology
qinj@ccf.org

Kimberly E. Resnick, MD
Assistant Professor, Gynecologic Oncology
Kimberly.Resnick@UHhospitals.org

Frederic J. Reu, MD
Assistant Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
reuf@ccf.org

Lisa R. Rogers, DO
Professor, Neurology
lisa.rogers1@UHhospitals.org

Peter G. Rose, MD
Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology
rosep@ccf.org

Yogen Saunthararajah, MD
Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
saunthy@ccf.org

Mark D. Schluchter, PhD
Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics
mds11@case.edu

Dale R. Shepard, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
shepard@ccf.org

Girish C. Shukla, PhD
Associate Professor, Biology
g.shukla@csuohio.edu

Andrew E. Sloan, MD
Associate Professor, Neurological Surgery
andrew.sloan@UHhospitals.org

Davendra Sohal, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor, Solid Tumor Oncology
sohald@ccf.org

David W. Stepnick, MD, FACS
Associate Professor, Otolaryngology
david.stepnick@UHhospitals.org

James P. Stevenson, MD
Associate Staff, Solid Tumor Oncology
stevenj5@ccf.org

Jean T. Stevenson, MD
Associate Professor, Surgery
jstevenson@metrohealth.org

John H. Suh, MD
Professor, Radiation Oncology
suhj@ccf.org

Gregory P. Tochtrop, PhD
Associate Professor, Chemistry
gpt6@case.edu

Joan E. Trey, MD
Associate Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
jet2@case.edu

Pierre L. Triozzi, MD
Staff, Solid Tumor Oncology
triozzp@ccf.org

Michael A. Vogelbaum, MD, PhD
Professor, Neurosurgery
vogelbm@ccf.org

Steven E. Waggoner, MD
Associate Professor, Reproductive Biology
steven.waggoner@UHhospitals.org

David N. Wald, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pathology
dnw@case.edu

Robert J. Weil, MD
Staff, Neurological Surgery
weilr@ccf.org

Yan Xu, PhD
Professor, Chemistry
yan.xu@case.edu

Yu-Chung Yang, PhD
Professor, Biochemistry
yxy36@case.edu

Vivien C. Yee, PhD
Associate Professor, Biochemistry
vcy2@case.edu

Kristine M. Zanotti, MD
Associate Professor, Reproductive Biology
kristine.zanotti@UHhospitals.org

Maciej Zborowski, PhD
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
zborowm@ccf.org

Mei Zhang, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering
mxz128@case.edu

Alan J. Zhu, PhD
Assistant Professor, Cell Biology, Genetics
zhua@ccf.org