Cancer Prevention, Control & Population Research

Program Leaders

Dr. Cooper

Gregory S. Cooper, MD
Professor, Medicine-Gastroenterology
gxc12@case.edu

Dr. Flocke

Susan A. Flocke, PhD
Associate Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
susan.flocke@case.edu


Program Themes

The overarching themes of this Program are:

  • To reduce the burden of cancer through identifying risk factors
  • Developing and applying novel strategies/interventions to reduce risk
  • Promoting early detection
  • Increasing the adoption and implementation of recommended cancer prevention and control services

Program Information

The Program has established and continues to expand community and practice "laboratories" and disease-focused and population-based cohorts to conduct transdisciplinary and translational research. Research in this program is catalyzed through formation of intra- and inter-programmatic collaborative groups interested in cross cutting or organ-specific cancer issues. This work is further promoted through program-wide seminars, working groups and strategic use of Cancer Center Resources.

To pursue the themes outlined above, members of the Prevention Program participate in at least one of the following four scientific Focus Areas:

  • Health services research and risk prediction modeling to inform cancer prevention and control
  • Cancer epidemiology and gene-environment interaction including international cancer health initiatives
  • Understanding and affecting factors associated with cancer prevention and control, survivorship and quality of life
  • Improving the informed consent and decision making process for cancer control

Program Members

Louise S. Acheson, MD, MS
Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
lsa@case.edu

Jill S. Barnholtz-Sloan, PhD
Associate Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
jsb42@case.edu

Elaine A. Borawski, PhD
Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics
elaine.borawski@case.edu

Jeremy S. Bordeaux, MD, MPH
Associate Professor, Dermatology
jeremy.bordeaux@UHhospitals.org

Gregory S. Cooper, MD
Professor, Medicine-Gastroenterology
gxc12@case.edu

Barbara J. Daly, RN, PhD, FAAN
Professor, Nursing
barbara.daly@case.edu

Gary T. Deimling, PhD
Professor, Sociology
gtd@case.edu

Catherine A. Demko, PhD
Associate Professor, Community Dentistry
catherine.demko@case.edu

Susan A. Flocke, PhD
Associate Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
susan.flocke@case.edu

Sonja Harris-Haywood, MD, MS
Assistant Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
shaywood@case.edu

Ge Jin, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences
ge.jin@case.edu

Eva F. Kahana, PhD
Professor, Sociology
exk@case.edu

Jonathan Karn, PhD
Professor, Molecular Biology & Microbiology
jonathan.karn@case.edu

Michael W. Kattan, PhD
Professor, Quantitative Health Sciences
kattanm@ccf.org

Eric D. Kodish, MD
Professor, Bioethics, Pediatrics
kodishe@ccf.org

Siran M. Koroukian, PhD
Associate Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics
sxk15@case.edu

Michael M. Lederman, MD
Professor, Medicine-Infectious Diseases
mxl6@case.edu

Li Li, MD, PhD
Professor, Family Medicine
lxl62@case.edu

Jung-Won Lim, PhD
Assistant Professor, Social Work
Jung-won.lim@case.edu

David G. Litaker, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Internal Medicine
david.litaker@med.va.gov

Susan R. Mazanec, PhD
Assistant Professor, Nursing
susan.mazanec@case.edu

Peter Mazzone, MD, MPH
Staff, Pulmonary Medicine
mazzonp@ccf.org

Neal J. Meropol, MD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
neal.meropol@case.edu

Shirley M. Moore, PhD, RN
Professor, Nursing
smm8@case.edu

Nora L. Nock, PhD
Assistant Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics
nln@case.edu

Elizabeth E. O'Toole, MD
Professor, Medicine-Geriatrics, Bioethics
exo5@case.edu

Johnie Rose, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
johnie.rose@case.edu

Julia Hannum Rose, PhD
Professor, Medicine, Geriatrics and Bioethics
jhr8@case.edu

Eileen Saffran, MSW
Senior Clinical Instructor, Family Medicine
saffran@touchedbycancer.org

Kurt C. Stange, MD, PhD
Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
kcs@case.edu

Mary M. Step, PhD
Assistant Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
mary.step@case.edu

Erika S. Trapl, PhD
Assistant Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics
erika.trapl@case.edu

Carl V. Tyler, Jr., MD, MS
Associate Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
catyle@ccf.org

Aaron Weinberg, DMD, PhD
Professor, Dental Medicine-Biological Sciences
axw47@case.edu

Brian J. Wells, MD, MS
Research Associate, Quantitative Health Sciences
wellsb@ccf.org

James J. Werner, PhD
Associate Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
james.werner@case.edu

Chad A. Zender, MD
Assistant Professor, Otolaryngology
chad.zender@UHhospitals.org

Amy Y. Zhang, PhD
Associate Professor, Nursing
amy.zhang@case.edu

Stephen J. Zyzanski, PhD
Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
sjz@case.edu