Basic Sciences

Program Leaders

Clark W. Distelhorst, MD

Clark W. Distelhorst, MD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology, Pharmacology
cwd@case.edu

Alexandru Almasan, PhD

Alexandru Almasan, PhD
Professor, Cancer Biology, Radiation Oncology
almasaa@ccf.org


Program Focus Areas


  • Cell Death
  • DNA Damage Response
  • Brain Tumors
  • Tumor Microenvironment

Program Members

Derek Abbott, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Pathology
Derek.Abbott@case.edu

Alexandru Almasan, PhD
Professor, Cancer Biology, Radiation Oncology
almasaa@ccf.org

Suneel S. Apte, MBBS, DPhil
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
aptes@ccf.org

Shideng Bao, PhD
Associate Professor, Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
baos@ccf.org

Barbara Bedogni, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biochemistry
bxb278@case.edu

G. Valentin Börner, PhD
Associate Professor, Biology
g.boerner@csuohio.edu

Jonathan Mark Brown, PhD
Assistant Professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine
brownm5@ccf.org

Matthias Buck, PhD
Associate Professor, Physiology & Biophysics
mxb150@case.edu

Paolo Caimi, MD
Assistant Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
paolo.caimi@case.edu

Cathleen R. Carlin, PhD
Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology
janice.lyons@UHhospitals.org

Chris G. Dealwis, PhD
Associate Professor, Pharmacology, Proteomics
cxd114@case.edu

L.R. Devireddy, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pathology
laxminarayana.devireddy@case.edu

Clark W. Distelhorst, MD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology, Pharmacology
cwd@case.edu

Paul L. Fox, PhD
Professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine
foxp@ccf.org

Thomas A. Gerken, PhD
Professor, Pediatrics
thomas.gerken@case.edu

Candece L. Gladson, MD
Professor, Cancer Biology
gladsoc@ccf.org

Anton V. Gorbachev, PhD
Instructor, Immunology
gorbaca@ccf.org

Edward M. Greenfield, PhD
Professor, Orthopaedics
emg3@case.edu

Subrata Haldar, PhD
Associate Professor, Pharmacology
shaldar@metrohealth.org

Dolores Hambardzumyan, PhD
Assistant Professor, Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
hambard@ccf.org

Thomas A. Hamilton, PhD
Professor, Immunology
hamiltt@ccf.org

Janet A. Houghton, PhD
Professor, Cancer Biology
houghtj@ccf.org

Justin D. Lathia, PhD
Assistant Professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine
lathiaj@ccf.org

Jeongwu Lee, PhD
Assistant Professor, Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
leej7@ccf.org

John J. Letterio, MD
Professor, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
john.letterio@UHhospitals.org

Bibo Li, PhD
Associate Professor, Biological, Geological, and Environmental Sciences
b.li37@csuohio.edu

Xiaoxia Li, PhD
Professor, Immunology
lix@ccf.org

Paul N. MacDonald, PhD
Associate Professor, Pharmacology
pnm2@case.edu

Roger M. Macklis, MD
Professor, Radiation Oncology
macklir@ccf.org

Danny Manor, PhD
Associate Professor, Nutrition
danny.manor@case.edu

Shigemi Matsuyama, PhD
Associate Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
sxm193@case.edu

Edward V. Maytin, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Dermatology, Biomedical Engineering
maytine@ccf.org

Keith R. McCrae, MD
Professor, Hematologic Oncology and Blood Disorders
mccraek@ccf.org

Christine L. McDonald, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pathobiology
mcdonac2@ccf.org

Saurav Misra, PhD
Assistant Professor, Molecular Cardiology
misras@ccf.org

Marvin T. Nieman, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pharmacology
nieman@case.edu

Nancy L. Oleinick, PhD
Professor, Radiation Oncology
nlo@case.edu

Jun Qin, PhD
Professor, Molecular Cardiology
qinj@ccf.org

Jeremy N. Rich, MD
Professor, Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
richj@ccf.org

Steven S. Rosenfeld, MD, PhD
Professor, Cancer Biology
rosenfs@ccf.org

Alvin H. Schmaier, MD
Professor, Medicine-Hematology/Oncology
alvin.schmaier@case.edu

Ganes C. Sen, PhD
Professor, Molecular Genetics
seng@ccf.org

George R. Stark, PhD
Professor, Molecular Genetics
starkg@ccf.org

Duncan Stearns, MD
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics-Hematology/Oncology
duncan.stearns@case.edu

Hoonkyo Suh, PhD
Assistant Professor, Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
suhh2@ccf.org

Matthew K. Summers, PhD
Assistant Staff, Cancer Biology
summerm@ccf.org

Derek J. Taylor, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pharmacology
derek.taylor@case.edu

Paul J. Tesar, PhD
Assistant Professor, Genetics
paul.tesar@case.edu

Scott Welford, PhD
Assistant Professor, Radiation Oncology
scott.welford@case.edu

Johannes Wolff, MD
Chair, Pediatric Hematology Oncology and Blood and Marrow Transplantation
wolffj@ccf.org

Sichun Yang, PhD
Assistant Professor, Center for Proteomics and Bioinformatics
sichun.yang@case.edu

Vivien C. Yee, PhD
Associate Professor, Biochemistry
vcy2@case.edu

Junran Zhang, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Radiation Oncology
junran.zhang@case.edu

Youwei Zhang, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pharmacology
yxz169@case.edu